Skip to content ↓


Children around a bowl of water containing objects to show floating and sinking

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) curriculum supports children’s development from birth to 5 years old (the end of the Reception Year).  Children develop rapidly during these years but they develop at different rates and different stages.   

We promote emotional security as children form strong relationships with dedicated early years trained staff, helping to build their confidence and experiences.  During these critical early years, children learn through play opportunities, adult led direction, being active, thinking critically and exploring the world around them.  These experiences will build a foundation for future life-long learning. 

The links between Preschool and Reception are strong and the Reception children participate in regular continuous provision in the Preschool.

The Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum 

The Early Years Foundation Stage supports your child’s development through seven areas of learning and development. 

Children develop three prime areas first:   

  • Communication and Language 

  • Physical Development 

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development 

As children continue to grow they progress through four specific areas of learning: 

  • Literacy 

  • Mathematical Development 

  • Understanding the World 

  • Expressive Art and Design 

These seven areas of development are used to plan stimulating activities for your child to experience during their time in the Preschool. 

Click here for further information about the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum. 

Pictures of Preschool children doing activities

Please click on the PDFs below to access our current programme of learning for the academic year 2022-23.